Some Home made remedies: Carpet cleaner, glow in the dark, and fly repellent!

Was checking out my Facebook feed and found this… thought it would be great to share. Please feel free to comment with some of the home made remedies you have used and like.

Home made carpet cleanerCarpet Shampoo Solution

1 Cup Oxyclean
1 Cup Febreeze
1 Cup Distilled White Vinegar

Pour contents into shampooer tank and mix with hot water to fill tank completely. This will not only clean your carpets it will also deodorize. It will smell slightly of vinegar until the carpet is dry, then will smell like febreeze…

Be sure to test spot with the solution just to be safe, however this should be safe for ALL carpets.

To save even more $$$ make your own Febreeze!  Here is the Recipe…

Homemade Frbreeze

What you’ll need:
1/8 Cup of fabric softener (I used Downy April Fresh)
2 tablespoons Baking Soda
Hot tap water
Spray bottle (I used my empty 27 oz. Febreze bottle)

Preparation:
Using a funnel, pour fabric softener and baking soda into your spray bottle. Fill spray bottle with hot tap water and shake well. Don’t forget to twist the nozzle over to the LOCK position if you’re using a Febreze bottle.

Glow in the dark pots

Glow in the Dare Flower Pots

Buy a flower pot that you really like and use Rustoleum’s Glow-in-the-dark paint to paint the pot. Follow the directions on the paint can… and apply at least one full coat.
Then place in a well lit area of your garden, walkways or your drive way and wow your self and your neighborhood.

During the day, the paint will absorb the sunlight and at night the pots will glow.

942661_10151727448095763_1362272420_nThis first picture is of a plastic zip lock bag filled with water and a few pennies…. any guess on what this can do? Well believe it or not it will keep flies away from any area you want them to stay away from. You can put them up anywhere you desire. A sun porch, barn, in a window.. and it will keep the flies away.

Who would have thought such a simple thing will keep those pest away, and since in Canada pennies are no longer used, its a great way to use up the pennies you have left in your wallet.

Here are a few different testimonials on how this works

Zip-lock water bags: #1 Says: I tried the zip lock bag and pennies this weekend. I have a horse trailer. The flies were bad while I was camping. I put the baggies with pennies above the door of the LQ. NOT ONE FLY came in the trailer.The horse trailer part had many. Not sure why it works but it does!

#2 Says:Fill a zip lock bag with water and 5 or 6 pennies and hang it in the problem area. In my case it was a particular window in my home. It had a slight passage way for insects. Every since I have done that, it has kept flies and wasps away. Some say that wasps and flies mistake the bag for some other insect nest and are threatened.

#3 Says:I swear by the plastic bag of water trick. I have them on porch and basement. We saw these in Northeast Mo. at an Amish grocery store& have used them since. They say it works because a fly sees a reflection& won’t come around.

#4 Says:Regarding the science behind zip log bags of water? My research found that the millions of molecules of water presents its own prism effect and given that flies have a lot of eyes, to them it’s like a zillion disco balls reflecting light, colors and movement in a dizzying manner. When you figure that flies are prey for many other bugs, animals, birds, etc., they simply won’t take the risk of being around that much perceived action. I moved to a rural area and thought these “hillbillies” were just yanking my city boy chain but I tried it and it worked immediately! We went from hundreds of flies to seeing the occasional one, but he didn’t hang around long.

Home made glow sticksHome Made Glow Sticks

1/4 mountian dew in a bottle

a tiny bit of baking soda

3 caps of peroxide.

put on the lid and shake….

and you now have a home made glow stick or bottle.

2 thoughts on “Some Home made remedies: Carpet cleaner, glow in the dark, and fly repellent!

  1. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new
    to everything. Do you have any suggestions for inexperienced
    blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  2. Josefina says:

    I’d like to find out more? I’d like to find out more details.

Leave a Reply

